HFC HIRE Career Ministry Video Script

Video

Audio

1.

MS of office building focused on large office doors

Background Music (slow and sad like)

2.

MS of Vinnie walking out of the building with one box in his arms.

VINNIE:
I just got laid off after 14 years of service.

3.

WS of doors closing as Vinnie sadly looks back.

Sound of doors closing

4.

CU of Vinnie sitting at his kitchen table speaking into the camera.

VINNIE:
Well at first I couldn’t understand what was going on after being laid off due to the fact that “Not Me”! You know.

I’ve always worked all my life.

Not having a job has impacted to me to a point of being shocked. My livelihood has changed. Not being able to do the things I used to do.

5.

CU shot of Vinnie with his head down in his hands sitting at the kitchen table. The laptop is closed. Bills are scattered all over the table. Dirty shot of wife in background.

VINNIE:
It put me in a depressive state. I was stressed out. I stressed my wife out. And you know, to have the impact that it did on me was very emotional.

You lose faith, you get tired, you be stressed, you just don’t wanna do this. You don’t wanna do that. It comes to a point of ya just, you wanna give up but you can’t give up.

6.

MS of Vinnie lifting is head then gathering the scattered bills into one pile and opening his laptop. Dirty shot of wife in background.

VINNIE:
But now it has hit me and life must go on and I gotta do what I gotta do to find a job.

7.

MS of Heritage Fellowship Church focused on the doors to enter the church. Dirty shot of the back of Vinnie’s head looking toward the doors. The doors of the church open and Vinnie walks in.

VINNIE:
After telling one of my friends about my situation, she told me about an upcoming career workshop at Heritage Fellowship Church. I was surprised the event was at a church. I’m not picky about where I receive help, you know, so I went.

8.

MS of Dayna sitting on a bench in the breezeway area outside the church. Dirty shot of church in background.

DAYNA:

The HIRE Career Ministry was founded more than ten years ago. The ministry supports job seekers by connecting them with empowering job search resources. These resources include workshops, weekly job announcement emails, one-to-one job search advice, and referrals to outside resources.

 

9.

WS of networking workshop.

VINNIE:
The first session I went to was on networking and your resume. I learned a lot. It was something that I wasn’t familiar with and something that I had to do. And there’s a lot more to it then one can even imagine to get a job.

DAYNA:

People mistakenly believe they can find work online. In fact 60+% of jobs are found through networking and other proactive methods.

VINNIE:
It’s not like it used to be. So in saying that… I’ve been networking. I’ve been going to different sessions and workshops.

10

. MS of Dayna sitting on a bench in the breezeway area outside the church. Dirty shot of church in background.

DAYNA:

HIRE has helped people realize that they must outshine and outlast the competition. HIRE gives them access to the tools and knowledge with which they can empower themselves.

HIRE helps the community in the same way it helps members—by connecting them with resources.

11

. MS of Vinnie talking with another man outside the gym. They then smile and shake hands. Dirty shot of gym in the background

VINNIE:
Not only have they help me, I’ve passed on their knowledge to someone else that needs help also.

DAYNA:

Thanks to word-of-mouth and the Church bulletin & announcements, a larger, unknown number of people have been directed to HIRE.

12

. CU of Vinnie sitting at his kitchen table speaking into the camera.

VINNIE:
I’m still in the process of looking for a job. I want to find a better job than I had before so I can even do better than I was doing. And right now I’m still networking. Uh I’m still going to workshops.

You have to stay positive. You have to continue on. You have to strive. You have to just do what you have to do.

13

. WS of Heritage Fellowship Church

VINNIE:
I never thought that a church could be a place to go to help you look for a job. The church is there for you for more reasons than you think. They are very helpful in a lot of different ways. Ya know, it’s more than just God there.

14

. Dirty shot of the back of Vinnie’s head with large doors closed in front of him. The doors then begin to open wide with the sun shinning in. Vinnie proceeds to walk out he doors into the world.

VINNIE:
I don’t have a job. I don’t know what’s going to happen tomorrow or the next day. But I’m happy, ya know. I know I’m gonna get a job. I’m just positive. I’m happy and I’m ready to take on the world.

Background music (upbeat & happy)

15

. Heritage Fellowship Church Logo

2501 Fox Mill Road, Reston, VA 20191 (703) 620-9515 info@heritagefellowshipchurch.org

heritagefellowshipchurch.org

VO:

The doors of Heritage Fellowship Church are always open. Feel free to contact us in your time of need.

Background music (upbeat & happy)

Leave a comment